Welcome to the Old Bridgewater Historical Society
The Old Bridgewater Historical Society, and the Bridgewater area itself, have centuries worth of American history to offer. We invite you to explore with us!
In 1649, Massasoit of the Wampanoag tribe and iconic Pilgrim Myles Standish signed the original Bridgewater land deed, establishing the area known as Old Bridgewater. This area was comprised of present-day Bridgewater, East and West Bridgewater, Brockton, and parts of other surrounding towns. Established in 1894, the Old Bridgewater Historical Society (OBHS) formed to help keep alive and promote the spirit and memory of Old Bridgewater by actively collecting, preserving, and publishing material relating to the history and the families of the original settlement.
OBHS not only owns, maintains, and makes accessible to visitors the oldest standing parsonage in the country, the iconic Keith House built in 1662, but also keeps Old Bridgewater’s history accessible by promoting for research its priceless Colonial era documents and artifacts kept in the society’s historic Memorial Building, such as the original 1649 land deed. Through its historic structures, historic collections, and engaging educational programs, OBHS is a leader in keeping the rich heritage of our country’s Massachusetts Colonial history alive and well.